Model Preferences

Preferences are available from the Window / Preferences menu. A section is dedicated to Capella.



General

The “Check model version at load time” provides a security when opening a model. It checks whether the model has been produced with the current version and thus whether it needs to be migrated or not. The drawback of activating this check is that the opening of models takes twice as long.

The AIRD Fragment File Extension option allows specifying the expected file suffix for AIRD fragments.

It is strongly recommended to use “airdfragment”.

Delete

On the sub section of Capella / Delete preferences, it is possible to specify deletion options:

Protected Elements: It is possible to prohibit the deletion of certain critical elements. In that case, the deletion command will not be active for these elements.

The following figure illustrates the prompted dialog when deleting the System Actor “Mission Control Operator”. All the elements in red will be deleted if the deletion is confirmed. The blue elements are the references towards the elements that are going to be deleted.

Model

On the sub section Model of Capella preferences, it is possible to specify global behavior regarding the management of specific elements.

When “Reuse of components” is activated, it activates to enable the reuse of components, creating several “Parts” from a Type. During a project creation, it activate a performance to reuse components.

In diagrams, you can use the “Reuse Components” palette tool. In Properties, selecting the “Part” will provide a way to select an available Type (e.g. Logical Component, Physical Components...).

When “Multiple inheritance allowed” is activated, a Class can inherit from several other Classes. Otherwise, it can only have one inheritance ancestor.

When “Multiple deployment allowed” is activated, one given Behaviour Physical Component can be deployed on several Node Physical Components.

When “Delete related associations when a class becomes primitive” is activated, existing associations towards the class which primitive status has changed is deleted automatically. If this option is not activated, then model validation is such cases will raise an error and the end user will be able to manually delete the obsolete association.

The three synchronization options define whether Port allocations and delegations are automatically set when performing allocations from editors. Activating this option helps improving the productivity.



Model Change Recorder

On the sub section of Capella / Model Change Recorder preferences, it is possible to activate the model changer recording to log technical model or diagram modification .

You can configure it thanks to features such as the maximum file size or the number of day to keep files.

Model Validation

On the sub section of Capella / Model Valdation preferences, it is possible to manage preferences related to Capella Model Validation by choosing by choosing to enable or disable some validation results.

Project Explorer

On the sub section of Capella / Project Explorer preferences, when the “Project” option is activated, the semantic element “Project” is displayed (see illustration below). By default, this option is not active.

In order to modify configuration property values located on the Project element (reusable components or not, default values for progress monitoring, etc.).), you can activate temporary this option.

If the preference is activated, the tree will be displayed. For significant model, it can be useful to not display entire trees and use the Regex to find a specific model.

Refinement

This section Capella / Refinement preferences is dedicated to delegation-based refinement of interface sequence diagrams. It is not relevant when exploiting Functional Analysis.

The checkbox “Allow diagram creation” specifies whether a diagram shall be automatically created for the target scenario of the refinement.

The checkbox “Allow diagram opening” specifies whether the diagram corresponding to the target scenario of the refinement shall be automatically opened or not.

The checkbox “Perform a pre-validation” specifies whether the refinement tool shall perform a set of elementary check verifying the source scenario are ready for refinement. It is strongly recommended to activate this option as well as the following one “Stop Refinement on pre-validation error”.

SCM

This section Capella / SCM preferences is related to the behaviour of Capella regarding the Software Configuration Management tool (e.g. Clearcase). The configuration option allows setting an automatic synchronization delay with the File System.

Activating this configuration option is mandatory when working with Clearcase Dynamic Views, in order to be notified immediately of changes performed by other users.

Transfer Viewer

On the sub section of Capella / Transfer Viewer preferences, it's recommended for huge models to disable the computation of labels for model elements which appear in the tree, it is also possible to allow the automatic expansion of trees in selection dialogs from Browse button in Properties view and also from Insert/Remove tool in diagram Palette.

If the preference is activated, the tree will be displayed. For significant model, it can be useful to not display entire trees.

Transitions/Generation

On the sub section of Capella / Transitions/Generation preferences, it is possible to specify the scope of automatic transitions.